HALFWAY

Bonjour à vous!

As usual, it’s been a few months that I’ve posted… I’m so sorry for that. Anyway, back to school after Christmas holidays was not too bad, it’s true that in the beginning you really miss your bed but I didn’t come here for that. I survived to the exams of P.É.I. and I still have time to have fun with my friends and do some activities with my family.

On January 23rd, I went with my family to cheer the world cup champions of freestyle moguls ski at Val Saint Come, more or less two hours from where I live. We walked up the beginning of the ski run and we took the best places after the first jump to the left. It was the first time that I saw a live ski competition, the atmosphere was incredible: everyone was screaming to encourage the competitors no matter if he/she was Canadian or not. There were two competitions, one for the girls and one for the boys. The speed they had and the jumps they did were unbelievable. OXAV4256

But the most exciting thing is that three sisters from Quebec made the podium, the oldest arrived 3rd, the middle one arrived 2nd and the youngest arrived 1st! This day will enter in the history and I can say that I was there.

dufour lapoint
I also tried the Canada’s national sport, I swear it’s not easy at all but it is incredibly funny. I went to play near the lake where there is a big outdoor ice spot with my little brother, a his friend, my dad and the other Italian girl that lives in my city.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Another new thing very typical that I tried recently is called ‘tire d’érable’ (Maple taffy in English). It is a sugar candy made by boiling the maple syrop. It is then poured upon clean snow, it rapidly get thicker and you have a maple candy. It is so so so sweet but it’s very good, but I can’t believe that someone has decided to put the maple syrup on the snow!

This is also the period when all the photos for the album were taken, that’s why we took a very beautiful photo the whole volleyball team together (I know we are a lot!).

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The photos that follow were taken before Christmas but I want to share it because they show some of the people that are so important and significative during my experience here.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset Here we were at ‘Le bal en Rose’ organized by Katia (in the volleyball pictures she was the blond girl to the right).

IMG_1446.JPG

Test Poutine number three: failed. (désolé mon estomac est pas assez fort!)

IMG_1448.JPG

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_0852.JPG

Last thing, I applied to a exchange students blog competition please vote me, you just have to press to the button “vote for this blog”. As soon as the page opened you have to go down and search for the name of my blog “A leap into the unknown” and press sur vote.

IX16 - Vote for this blog!

And if you have Facebook like my photo dans the album of the Bab.la page: www.facebook.com/babla.languages/photos

Thank you so much if you did it!!! If not thanks you for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

